Washington and Williams Honored by SEC Coaches

Williams was named First Team All-SEC, Washington SEC Co-Freshman of the Year

Senior Ronni Williams and freshman Delicia Washington were honored by the 14 Southeastern Conference head coaches, who today announced their postseason awards.

Williams, who became the first Gator in program history to lead the SEC in scoring with 20.1 points per league game, was voted First-Team All-SEC. This is the first time the 6-1 guard/forward has garnered a spot on the league’s top team.

Williams is the 15th different Gator to earn First-Team All-SEC honors and the first since Jaterra Bonds in 2014.

Washington became the first Gator in program history bestowed with the league’s top rookie honors, as she was named the SEC Co-Freshman of the Year with Missouri’s Amber Smith. Washington also was selected to the SEC All-Freshman Team.

Washington is the eighth different Gator to earn a spot on the SEC All-Freshman Team during the 10-year tenure of Head Coach Amanda Butler.

Williams’ Season at a Glance

  • First Gator to lead the SEC in scoring (20.1 ppg in SEC games)
  • Scored 20+ points in 13 games this year (14 in her career)
  • Highlight game was a 43-point, 14-rebound performance in the win at Vanderbilt (January 29)
  • Her 43-point effort was the third highest total in program history and the most by an SEC player this season
  • First SEC player to drop 40+ points and 10+ rebounds in a game since 2003
  • Ninth Gator to score 1,400+ points and collect 800+ rebounds in a career
  • Will be the third Gator to lead the team in scoring three different seasons (Olympian Tammy Jackson and WNBA star Merlakia Jones), and the first to do so in three consecutive years
  • Just the fourth Gator to record at least four 30+ scoring games in a career – and Williams accomplished all of hers in one season
  • In addition to leading the Gators this season in scoring with 19.1 points per game (20.1 ppg in SEC games), Williams also leads the squad in rebounding (7.8 pg) and free throw percentage (74.2%) and is second for assists (67) and field goal percentage (54.0%).

Washington’s Season at a Glance

  • Led all SEC freshmen in scoring and steals
  • In SEC games, was UF’s second-leading scorer with 13.1 ppg, while adding 5.3 rebounds per game
  • Recorded 17 double-figure scoring games – third-most on the team
  • Three games of 20+ points, with two of those coming in SEC action
  • Logged one double-double (12 points, 11 rebounds at Alabama Feb. 12)
  • Two-time SEC Freshman of the Week (awarded Feb. 14 and Nov. 22)
  • Scored a career-best 31 points against Indiana (Dec. 20) – the fifth Gator freshman in program history to score at least 30 points in a game and the first since Merlakia Jones scored 34 on January 4, 1992
  • First true freshman to start a season-opener since 2012-13 season

The complete 2017 SEC Women’s Basketball Postseason Awards:

First Team All-SEC

Ronni Williams, Florida

Evelyn Akhator, Kentucky

Makayla Epps, Kentucky

Victoria Vivians, Mississppi State

Sophie Cunningham, Missouir

Alaina Coates, South Carolina

A’ja Wilson, South Carolina

Diamond DeShields, Tennessee


Second Team All-SEC

Katie Frerking, Auburn

Pachis Roberts, Georgia

Raigyne Moncrief, LSU

Morgan William, Mississippi State

Jaime Nared, Tennessee

Mercedes Russell, Tennessee

Khaalia Hillsman, Texas A&M

Curtyce Knox, Texas A&M

Danni Williams, Texas A&M



Ashley Knight, Alabama

Jordan Lewis, Alabama

Jailyn Mason, Arkansas

Delicia Washington, Florida

Amber Smith, Missouri

Tyasha Harris, South Carolina

Kayla Overbeck, Vanderbilt

Erin Whalen, Vanderbilt



Katie Frerking, Auburn

Caliya Robinson, Georgia

Raigyne Moncrief, LSU

Dominique Dillingham, Mississippi State

Alaina Coates, South Carolina

A’ja Wilson, South Carolina


Coach of the Year: Robin Pingeton, Missouri

Player of the Year: A’ja Wilson, South Carolina

Co-Freshmen of the Year: Delicia Washington, Florida / Amber Smith, Missouri

Defensive Player of the Year: Raigyne Moncrief, LSU

6th Woman of the Year: Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Katie Frerking, Auburn


Gator Pronunciations for this Release:

  • DELICIA Washington: duh-LEE-shuh


SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Instagram