Sarah Lowe Tabbed 2020 SEC Legend

She was arguably the most-decorated off-the-court player in UF women’s basketball program history and one of the finest point guards on it. Sarah Lowe (2002-06) will be honored as the program’s SEC Legend at the 2020 SEC Women’s Basketball Tournament in Greenville, S.C.
“There have been so many great women that have played at Florida and I am proud to represent that history as the 2020 SEC Women’s Basketball Legend. Having the chance to be a collegiate athlete at Florida was truly a once in a lifetime experience,” Lowe said. “My time at UF was formative both in terms of what I learned about myself on the court, as well as what I was able to explore in classroom. There are countless things I’ve carried forward that prepared me for life after the game.”
Lowe, a magna cum laude double major, collected a slew of academic accolades over her time including the NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship, the SEC’s H. Boyd McWhorter Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award and the SEC’s co-nomination for the NCAA Woman of the Year. She was also a Rhodes Scholarship finalist and received a Fulbright Grant.
She was certainly no slouch on the court as she ranks top 10 in program history in assists, steals, minutes played and free throws made. Lowe, played pivotal roles on two NCAA Tournament teams, and as a senior spearheaded major upsets against No. 2 LSU and No. 5 Tennessee. Sarah Lowe was a three-time captain, one of just three Gators to achieve the feat, and epitomized the term “leader on and off the court”.

After graduating from UF, she went on to secure a master’s degree in development studies from Oxford. 
In her career following basketball, Lowe co-founded a non-profit that provides free secondary boarding schools in East Africa, led the Bay Area office for the United States Liability Insurance Group and she currently serves as the vice president of sales for Workforce Athletics, a startup focused on providing team sports for companies. 
“We are thrilled to honor Sarah as our SEC Legend this season. Both on and off the court, she embodied the Gator standard of excellence and demonstrated tremendous leadership abilities. Our current players have countless alumni that they can look up to and Sarah’s example is one of the best for them to follow,” said head coach Cam Newbauer.

The class will be honored at the 2020 SEC Women’s Basketball Tournament, March 4-8 in Greenville, S.C. 

Each legend will be honored during half-time of their teams first game of the tournament, all 14 individuals will also be honored as a group, as well as participate in an autograph session during the tournament. 

2020 SEC Women’s Legends:

ALABAMA – Ashley Miles Greig; Gymnastics ; 2003-2006
ARKANSAS – Bev Lewis; Track & Field HC/AD; 1981-1990 (HC), 1989-2007 (Dir. Woman’s Athletics),     
                           2008-2014 (Assoc. Vice Chancellor/Exec. Assoc. AD)             
AUBURN – Whitney Boddie; Basketball; 2005-2009
FLORIDA – Sarah Lowe; Basketball; 2002-2006
GEORGIA – Tawana McDonald Robinson; Basketball; 1999-2002
KENTUCKY – Sarah Witten Cantey; Tennis; 2000-2003
LSU – Sylvia Fowles; Basketball; 2004-2008
OLE MISS – Catherine Yelverton; Tennis; 1978-1981
MISSISSIPPI STATE – Martha (Alwal) Omot; Basketball; 2012-2015
MISSOURI – Natasha Kaiser-Brown; Track & Field; 1985-1989
SOUTH CAROLINA – Siew-Ai Lim; Golf; 1992-1996
TENNESSEE – Candace Parker; Basketball; 2005-2008
TEXAS A&M – Andrea Williams; Volleyball/Basketball; 1992-95 (VB), 1993-1994 (BKB)
VANDERBILT – Nakia Davis; Golf; 1990-1993
SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram