Florida Duo to Represent Gators at SEC Basketball Leadership Council

The Southeastern Conference Men’s and Women’s Basketball Leadership Council will convene for its annual meeting at the SEC offices on Friday and Saturday, with Kowacie Reeves and Zippy Broughton set to represent the Gators.
On the men’s side, Reeves returns after a strong freshman campaign in which he saw action in 29 games, earning 10 starts. Averaging 5.5 points per game, Reeves put together his best performance in the SEC Tournament against Texas A&M, scoring all of his 21 points after halftime to spearhead the Gators’ rally attempt. He earned his first career start against LSU.
Broughton returns as the leader for Florida women’s basketball in 2022-23 after helping guide the Gators to a 21-11 mark and first NCAA Tournament appearance since 2016 last season. The graduate averaged 10.5 points, 4.0 rebounds, 1.9 assists and 1.4 steals per game, but increased those numbers to 14.2 points, 4.7 rebounds, 2.3 assists and 1.6 steals per game in SEC play. She recorded a career-best 28 points in a 19-point comeback victory against Texas A&M on Jan. 9, 2022.
The council consists of one male representative and one female representative from each of the SEC’s 14 institutions. The goal of the leadership council is for student-athletes to serve as a conduit of communication from their teams to the conference office on issues related to student-athlete experience, student-athlete wellness, and to provide feedback on proposed rules governing the SEC and NCAA.
The Men’s Basketball Leadership Council and the Women’s Basketball Leadership Council comprise two components of the SEC Student-Athlete Leadership Council. The third component is the Football Leadership Council, which meets each February.
The student-athletes who serve on the SEC Men’s and Women’s Basketball Leadership Council are:
Men’s Basketball
Adam Cottrell, Alabama
Cade Arbogast, Arkansas
Babatunde Akingbola, Auburn
Kowacie Reeves, Florida
Jabri Abdur-Rahim, Georgia
Brennan Canada, Kentucky
Justice Hill, LSU
Matthew Murrell, Ole Miss
Isaac Stansbury, Mississippi State
Kobe Brown, Missouri
Chico Carter Jr., South Carolina
Jahmai Mashack, Tennessee
Henry Coleman III, Texas A&M
Quentin Millora-Brown, Vanderbilt
Women’s Basketball
Megan Abrams, Alabama
Rylee Langerman, Arkansas
Honesty Scott-Grayson, Auburn
Zippy Broughton, Florida
Diamond Battles, Georgia
Nyah Leveretter, Kentucky
Emily Ward, LSU
Madison Scott, Ole Miss
Aislynn Hayes, Mississippi State
Haley Troup, Missouri
Laeticia Amihere, South Carolina*
Tamari Key, Tennessee
Jada Malone, Texas A&M
Yaubryon Chambers, Vanderbilt
*Olivia Thompson will attend the meeting in place of Laeticia Amihere.